REPORTING ABUSE & NEGLECT
OF PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES

IF YOU SUSPECT OR OBSERVE ABUSE

OR NEGLECT OF A PERSON WITH
A DISABILITY, REPORT TO THE DPPC
BY CALLING THE 24-HOUR HOTLINE:
1-800-426-9009 | TTY 711

WHAT IS A MANDATED REPORTER?

Mandated Reporters are persons who, as a result of their profession, are more likely to be aware of abuse of
individuals with disabilities. Mandated Reporters are required by law to report cases of suspected abuse to DPPC
when they have a suspicion that a person with a disability is suffering from a reportable case of abuse or neglect.

For suspected abuse of adults with disabilities, mandated reporting is an individual responsibility. It is up to the
individual reporter to be certain that a report of suspected abuse or neglect is filed. Mandated Reporters should not
rely on others, such as supervisors or administrators to file reports for them.

All allegations of abuse or neglect should be reported immediately to DPPC'’s 24 hour-Hotline, regardless of the
personal feelings of knowledgeable staff.

WHAT IS REPORTABLE?

The standard for reporting suspected abuse or neglect in Massachusetts is any situation where there is a reasonable
suspicion to believe that abuse or neglect exists. Neglect may include patient-on-patient abuse. Reports involving
deaths of individuals with disabilities, even if there is no suspicion that the death is the result of abuse, the caregiver
agency is required to immediately provide an oral report of said death to DPPC'’s 24-hour Hotline.

Mandated Reporters are immune from civil or criminal liability as a result of making a report. Non-mandated
Reporters are also protected providing the report was make in good faith. Failure to report incidences of suspected
abuse and neglect can result in severe consequences for the alleged victim, other potential victims and the
mandated reporter. Mandated reporters who fail to file a report are subject to a fine of up to $1,000.

WHO ARE MANDATED REPORTERS?

» Persons employed by a state agency within o Podiatrists
the Executive Office of Health and Human Services e Osteopaths

» Persons employed by private agencies providing e Public or private school teachers
services to persons with disabilities o Educational administrators

« Physicians, Dentists, Nurses « Guidance or family counselors

« Medical interns « Day care workers

 Hospital personnel engaged in the examination, care « Probation officers

or treatment of persons with disabilities « Animal control officers
» Medical examiners
o Psychologists
o Chiropractors

e Social workers
o Foster parents
« Police officers
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REPORTING ABUSE & NEGLECT

OF PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES

THE DISABLED PERSONS PROTECTION COMMISSION (DPPC)

The Disabled Persons Protection Commission (DPPC) is an independent state agency created by legislation in 1987.
Massachusetts General Law chapter 19C (M.G.L. c. 19C) established DPPC to protect adults with mental and
physical disabilities, between the ages of 18 and 59, from abuse or neglect by their caregiver(s) whether in a private,
family, or state care setting. DPPC’s enabling statute fills the gap between the child abuse (ages 0-17) and elder
abuse (age 60 and over) statutes.

In cases of suspected abuse or neglect of a person with a disability, DPPC:

e Receives and screens reports of suspected abuse and neglect through a 24-Hour Hotline

e Receives and screens reports of all deaths, when an individual has died while in the care of a state
or private service provider

e Conducts investigations

¢ Oversees investigations conducted by other state agencies on DPPC'’s behalf

e Ensures that appropriate protective services are provided when abuse is substantiated

e Provides training and education

e Provides assistance to callers in clarifying the presence of abuse

WHEN AN INDIVIDUAL REPORTS ABUSE OR NEGLECT

e Be calm and supportive o Assure the individual that they did the right thing
« Never agree to keep the abuse secret by reporting the abuse
o Provide a private setting for the individual o Do not investigate

to disclose the abuse o Immediately report the suspected abuse to DPPC
¢ Never blame the victim « Maintain confidentiality - only tell who you must

» In an emergency, call 911
CONTACT DPPC
) Request a Training

Report suspected abuse against . .
adults with disabilities ages 18-59 Sign up for DPPC’s Reporting Abuse and Neglect
by calling DPPC’s 24-hour Hotline: of Persons with Disabilities Training by visiting
1-800-426-9009 | TTY 711 dppcmass.gov or call 617-727-6465 to explore

other training opportunities.

ADDITIONAL REPORTING HOTLINES

DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN EXECUTIVE OFFICE OF AGING DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC
AND FAMILIES (DCF) & INDEPENDENCE (AGE) HEALTH (DPH)

For suspected abuse against For suspected abuse against For suspected abuse against
children ages 0-17 adults ages 60+ all people in long-term care facilities
1-800-792-5200 1-800-922-2275 1-800-462-5540

TTY 711 TTY 711 TTY 711
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